Keeping up appearances

It’s really difficult to find yourself when everybody around you is telling you who you should be or who you are. There are things about me that have changed and yet sometimes people talk about them as if I still act a certain way, when I haven’t in a long time. There are also things about me that I like that many people have told me to change. To a lot of people, appearances are everything. How your friends appear when they’re around you, how you appear in public, and my personal favorite is how families appear.

Siblings being embarrassed about how their bother or sister dresses, parents worrying about how their children behave, talk and dress in public, spouses worrying about how each other acts around other people. It’s kind of hard to develop your own opinions and ideas when the people around you are telling you how to think and act.

Don’t get me wrong, to some extent parents should teach their children how to act in public. I just feel like I’m confined to being this person everyone else wants me to be and I don’t even know who that is. I don’t know who I am, I don’t know what my goals are, I don’t know who I want to be before the end of my life.

I just wish that instead of trying to force people into appearing the way we think they should, we would be open to their ideas and opinions and let them become themselves.

Leave a Reply

